# SPECIAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE CRIME OF AGGRESSION IN UKRAINE

TUE 28 MARCH 2023 15:20-16:20 (UK) IN-PERSON BY INVITATION

HOL COMMITTEE ROOM: 3A UK PARLIAMENT

25 MINS, PRESENTATIONS 35 MINS, DISCUSSION

#### CHAIF

BOB SEELY MP, APPG UKRAINE [CON]

### **KEYNOTES**

H.E. AMB. & ENVOY, DR ANTON KORYNEVYCH
UKRAINIAN MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS
PROFESSOR DAPO AKANDE
OXFORD, ESSEX COURT, ILC

#### SPONSORS' COMMENT

ALEX SOBEL MP, CO-CHAIR [LAB]
RICHARD FOORD MP, VICE CHAIR [LIB DEM]
BRENDAN O'HARA MP, CHAIR APPG ILJA [SNP]
LORD ALTON OF LIVERPOOL, VICE CHAIR

#### **INTERVENTIONS**

AARIF ABRAHAM, BARRISTER DR EWELINA OCHAB, LAWYER

PLEASE RSVP NON-PASSHOLDERS MUST REGISTER

## SPECIAL BRIEFING

**LEGAL ASSESSMENT & UPDATE** 



A year since Russia, aided by Belarus, launched its devastating military offensive in Ukraine the conflict there continues unabated. The invasion, occupation, bombardment, and attacks on Ukraine among other aggressive acts are some of the most widespread in Europe since the Second World War. It is for this reason, and because of the continuing and escalating aggression, that Ukraine and its Eastern European neighbours urgently called in February 2022 for the prosecution of Russian and Belarussian leaders, among them Vladimir Putin, for the crime of aggression. That call, a year on, is now backed by a number of countries, including France, Germany, and Britain, which have begun talks on creating a Special Tribunal to try leaders for this crime. The Dutch have offered to host such a tribunal and the European Commission is considering a workable model that it could support.

There are key challenges facing a Special Tribunal that require consideration including what kind of model the UK Government can and should support. This special, crossparty briefing, with leading experts, will consider what is the most workable model for the Special Tribunal and where the UK might provide leadership.

#### **HOSTS**

- APPG for Prevention of Genocide & CAH
   APPG on Ukraine
   APPG for Int'l Law, Justice and Accountability
  - SECRETARIAT

Andy Bailey, Aegis
 Ewelina Ochab, IBAHRI, C4GR
 Aarif Abraham, Accountability Unit